LUHSD Seeks Nominations for 2017

Graduates of Distinction Honorees

Brentwood CA September 2016― Members of the Graduates of Distinction Board of Directors are currently seeking nominations to recognize and honor past graduates through the Liberty Union High School District (LUHSD) Graduates of Distinction Program. Honorees are selected among individuals who have distinguished themselves through their accomplishments and/or contributions to their chosen profession or community, and deserve recognition for leading lives that remain true to the core values taught at LUHSD. The Board needs your assistance now to help identify and honor these individuals in spring 2017.


A committee consisting of members from faculty, staff, retirees, and the community will review the nominations, using specific criteria to select a maximum of three honorees. The criteria include:


  • someone who has been graduated from the district a minimum of 10 years and who spent a majority of those years in the district;
  •  someone who demonstrates personal integrity and is worthy of emulation;
  •  someone who can be a role model for current students;
  •  someone who excels in areas such as the following: science, community service, public affairs, government, entertainment, education, fine arts, business, and labor.


Past honorees include such noted community members as Bill Bristow, Joanne Byer, Mary Black, and Hugh Henderson. Next April, the selected honorees will tour campuses and participate in assemblies at LUHSD schools, and an award ceremony will be held in their honor. The Board of Directors urges anyone to submit names for nomination to the Graduates of Distinction committee to be considered for selection. The nomination forms are available on the LUHSD website at , or may be picked up at the District Office at 20 Oak Street in Brentwood, CA 94513. For more information please contact the Assistant Superintendent of Administrative/Student Services at (925) 634-2166 x 2021. We thank the Board of Directors for organizing the event this year.

Graduates of Distinction
Past Inductees:

Rose Pierce
John Michael Casey
Mary C. Black

Joanne Byer
Lenny Byer
Bill Bristow

Floyd Reese
Joseph Tovar

David Blumen
Joseph Coelho
Hugh Henderson
Dr. Mas Kamigaki

Catherine Callaghan
Tammy George
Dr. Rose Mary Borunda
Kathryn Hampton
Troy A. Martin-O’Shia
Major Michelle Vestal  

Colonel Henry Cervantes
Dr. Dennis Baldocchi
E. Lanier Allen

Nancy (Gemett) DeGuire
Manuel Vilchez
Richard Mello

Lieutenant Commander Octavia Poole Ashburn
Carol Benn Ligon
Berta Oseguera Ruiz
Doug Adams
Craig Bronzan
Nicholas M. Eslinger
Jeff Carpenter
Kathy Leighton
Nancy Marquez-Suarez